My Tinder Date

facetune-58In an effort, to help my friend’s dating confidence, I propose an idea for a double date. facetune-56

I have an odd habit of imposing myself onto my friends. Whatever they go through, I’m right by their side to go through the situation with them. I downloaded Tinder in hopes of boosting my friend’s confidence. Some people are quite confident in their dating life, while others need a little assistance, especially if they’ve been out of the dating game for quite some time.

Three hours later, I matched with a spectrum of people and started to get to know them. Some were lovely while others were adamantly clear that they were only on Tinder for casual hookups. A day later, one of the guys I clicked with asked me out and I gave him my number. He found out my love for sushi, so we set up a date at a sushi restaurant.

facetune-57I arrived at the restaurant, we exchanged pleasantries and ordered food. Everything was going perfectly fine until the bill came. I offered to split the bill fifty-fifty, as a test to see if he’d pick up the tab. He agreed to split the bill and I was disappointed. I’m a traditional girl who loves when a guy is chivalrous and a gentleman. Of course, it’s not compulsory for a guy to pay on the first date, however, if he wants to set the right tone, he’d pick up the tab. Paying on the first date tells a girl that you’re generous, considerate and ready to impress her. Nonetheless, I overlooked the situation and smiled.

He didn’t want the date to end and neither did I. He suggested we get milkshakes from Five Guys and I agreed. On our way there, we saw a homeless man’s dog furiously barking at another dog across the street, frightened by the dogs reaction, the guy pulled me closer to hug me. I thought that was admirable of him.

facetune-60At Five Guys, just before we got to the cashier, the guy left my side and immediately went to pay for his milkshake, leaving me to pay for mine. That’s when it dawned on me that he doesn’t have date night etiquette. We sat down and talked. He revealed that he broke up with his ex because she wanted to get married, while he didn’t want to be tied down. If you’re a long time reader of Bumascloset, you would know that I’ve been with guys who didn’t want to commit and I’ve gotten my heart broken in the process. So, when he uttered those words I knew there wouldn’t be a second date.

facetune-55

There were things he said and did that I won’t reveal, but the date was not horrible. I guess being out of the dating world for years made him forget that he had to show chivalry to a girl on a first date. On my way home, I got on Facetime with my friend, explained what happened and she said I wasn’t being ridiculous regarding how I felt. Even my Mum confirmed the same thing for me.

Show of hands if you think my expectations are too high? Ever gone on a Tinder date? What was your experience?
2 thoughts on “My Tinder Date

  1. sipiwebwalya says:

    I actually met my bf of tinder! It’s pretty hit one of my first tinder dates was with a guy that catfished with really old pictures of himself 😩 Hope you have better luck in the future!

Leave a Reply

