The Secret

Book Review Swapping my glossy magazines for a knowledgeable book, that is sure to help me for years to come.
As many of you can spot in this Instagram post, the book that has grabbed my attention for the last four weeks is The Secret. Just as the writer received a law of attraction book from her daughter, when she was at a low point in her life, a book which later inspired this book. I was also at a low point when my friend lent me The Secret.

It’s easy to misconstrue the message behind this book because the book does spend a considerable time on how to use the Law of Attraction to gain material possession, which in turn make people think Ms Byrne encourages wishful thinking without direct action, to achieve your goals. Faith without works is dead, which brings me to the fact that Christians believes that it conflicts with our beliefs, but I beg to differ, I think it has a complementary approach. Sure, we shouldn’t let worldly material gains override our lives, however, if you do want to change your circumstances, you have to change your mindset and get closer to God.

Often, our parents encourage positive thinking, seeking and asking God to improve our lives, and the book invertedly enforces that mindset. It reminds you that there’s a lot that you can do to change your circumstances, even if things seem desolate. By encouraging people to get in better mind frame, to maintain motivation and pursue your goal, with the contribution of optimism, visualisation and the power of perspective. The Law of Attraction, in my opinion, can be used for its positive benefits, but always remember to keep God first.

That said, I’d like to touch on a few things that concern me, regarding the ‘create your own reality’ message The Secret relays to the readers. Challenges are part of life, facing them makes us stronger, but we shouldn’t blame ourselves for the challenging circumstances that are beyond our control: accidents, serious illnesses, and much more, as its counterproductive. Instead use positive thinking, and praying to God to weather the storm.

Personally, this book has provided significant relief from stress, internal locus of control, with positive attitude and clarification of goals, making it an excellent book to read. I highly recommend this book.

Once you’re done following me on my socials, feel free to head over to my channel to watch my videos

Follow me on my socials!
📱Twitter: www.twitter.com/imbumascloset
📱Instagram: www.instagram.com/bumascloset
💻 Youtube: youtube.com/bumascloset

🎀 🎀 🎀

Leave a Reply

