My Week as an intern for LFW

photo 1.PNG

Hey beauties! Welcome back to my blog Hope you all are well!

On my last post, I stated being an intern for London fashion week without going into details. Well this post sheds a light on my experience.  London fashion week is a short, fast paced event held twice a year, inFebruary and September. It attracts over 250 designers, press attention, buyers and well-known fashionistas. While it’s all glitz and glamour, a lot of preparation and organizing goes into the shows.

As an intern, being sent on errands to 5 star hotels and the Condé Nast building to hand deliver invitations was one of the tasks I had to do before fashion week started. While on one of those errands to a hotel, I saw Olivia Palermo standing just 30 yards away from me. *Screams internally* It was so surreal! However I had to compose myself and behave in a professional manner,  as I didn’t want to get myself removed from the building.  The PR agency ‘The Wolves London’ that I interned for had five shows to organize; Orla Kiely, Toga, Danielle, Rejina Pyo and Isabel Garcia.  At each shows, the interns were given different tasks. Due to wardrobe malfunction – not having any black clothes in my wardrobe, I rarely took part in those tasks but I was allowed to watch the presentations, take pictures, help around backstage with the models and make up artists.

(Photo taken from adamajatta)

 

photo 2.PNG

Models Casting

photo 3.PNG

ORLA KIELY SS15

Orla Kiely presentation took place at the Vinyl Factor, Soho where other interns welcomed guests with elderflowers, drinks and flower icing cupcakes on a glass tray. The presentation room décor was full of empty plant pots, a white picket fence and a glass screen which was later painted with different coloured flowers to set it’s 70’s theme.  Well I definitely got the 70’s vibe from the whole presentation while I was working. Eeeekkk! I hope I’m not wrong about the theme. Bites lips* I love this collection as it featured spring colours; bright yellows, pink and subtle patterns ready for next year’s spring and summer everyday wear with mixed pretty dresses and fitted trousers.

 (Pictures taken from rosaspina vintage)

Rosapinavintage orla kiely ss15 - 20 rosaspinavintage orla kiely ss15 - 3 rosaspinavintage orla kiely ss15 - 10 rosaspinavintage orla kiely ss15 - 13 rosaspinavintage orla kiely ss15 - 15

 TOGA SS15

Took place at St. Pancras Renaissance hotel. Toga is a Japanese label known for their western style meets bold Japanese aesthetic. Their alluring designs and style invites viewers to touch and get the sense of how the collections were made.   And this year’s presentation was fantastic, their collections were juxtaposed with seamless elements of traditional techniques that shows an experimentation of materials.  (Pictures taken from Littlelondonerslife and Patspearl)

Littlelondonerslife toga pic 1Unlimitedbyjk Toga pic

Patspearl toga 3Patspearls Toga 1littlelondonerslife toga pic 3Littlelondonerslife toga pic 2

photo-2

REJINA PYO
Once the toga presentation was done, Somerset house was the next destination for Rejino’s Pyo presentation.  Walking through the set to go backstage, I noticed the architectural backdrop, which set the tone for her presentation. Architectural decor was definitely a big influence for Rejina’s collection, as it featured asymmetric and geometry lines, colour blocking, bold print shapes that highlights femininity with a mix of masculinity. All perfect for next year’s spring and summer wear.

(Pictures taken from ZAMBIO)

ZIMBIO Rejina+Pyo+Presentation+London+Fashion+Week+yK5k-iNcftXlZIMBIO Rejina+Pyo+Presentation+London+Fashion+Week+a1Kr0DVIn5ElZIMBIO Rejina+Pyo+Presentation+London+Fashion+Week+AYVknJXDAIilZIMBIO Rejina+Pyo+Presentation+London+Fashion+Week+GKK8AgLOAVZlZIMBIO Rejina+Pyo+Presentation+London+Fashion+Week+KWpwf5VI-gllZIMBIO Rejina+Pyo+Presentation+London+Fashion+Week+LmszNEmEyTblZIMBIO Rejina+Pyo+Presentation+London+Fashion+Week+nk500TBHsHIlZIMBIO Rejina+Pyo+Presentation+London+Fashion+Week+oM0563HO7PLlZIMBIO Rejina+Pyo+Presentation+London+Fashion+Week+pujC8Uy_boxlZIMBIO Rejina+Pyo+Presentation+London+Fashion+Week+qrMWUZ7cMWBlZIMBIO Rejina+Pyo+Presentation+London+Fashion+Week+Qxk5aiU-g_3l ZIMBIORejina+Pyo+Presentation+London+Fashion+Week+8xqZWLca-LHl

Behind the scenes – REJINA PYO

(taken from my iPhone)

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 5

ISABEL GARCIA

Feeling rather useless for not helping with previous shows, I made sure I had something black to wear even if it meant borrowing it from a friend the night before.

The next day I went to the office feeling better and ready to be a part of the team, got bits and bob done then got sent over with another intern to the freemasons halls to prepare the set in time for the show. On my way there, I made sure I bought a chocolate bar and coconut water drink to hydrate and energize my self throughout day.

When I think of modern women with a bit of sexiness and culture, the collection that springs to my mind is Isabel Garcia. It’s modern, sexy and infuses a classic oriental geisha look that compliments different body shapes.  Click here to watch the show.

Once the show was done, I and three other interns went downstairs to the VIP booth and helped serve the guests plus took pictures with them when we were done working.

(Pictures taken from Zambio and thefashionscout)

zambio Isabel+Garcia+SS15+Show+_Ut4kAZ19-Bl zambio Isabel+Garcia+SS15+Show+BxxgAU7NKDul Zambio Isabel+Garcia+SS15+Show+JxtPE5h7xWKl zambio Isabel+Garcia+SS15+Show+nw-KhFGCGpyl zambio Isabel+Garcia+SS15+Show+OhhZkKGB7CLl zambio Isabel+Garcia+SS15+Show+oVpl7pa8KnNl zambio Isabel+Garcia+SS15+Show+s4E3huFFjIpl zambio Isabel+Garcia+SS15+Show+sa7FtN0pzNyl zambio Isabel+Garcia+SS15+Show+sDHElOg9Lykl

photo 2-2

I had the chance to meet and talk to Yasmin and Amber Le Bon ( Taken from my iPhone )

photo 3-2

well this is it for part one of my my week as an intern for LFW. see you all on friday! 🙂 x

29 thoughts on “My Week as an intern for LFW

    • Bumascloset says:

      a haha thank you i had so much fun! and those pictures ain’t mine unfortunately as i didn’t have my camera with me but the people who took them, have great photography skills xxx

  1. queenbeady says:

    WOW! What an amazing experience! I’ve been a bit off social media and didn’t even realise you had done this! I bet you can’t wait to do it again 🙂
    I’m extremely jealous lady!!! Orla Kiely’s designs are just so cute & so totally my favourite!
    Rebecca xxx
    http://www.queenbeady.com

  2. C-Eclectic Style says:

    OOO this is cool. Wish I was there to experience all that especially outside of the US, London, Always wanted to go there.

Leave a Reply

