AFWL2014 – Green and white Affair

IMG_0433

Miss Selfridge Trouser / Ankara From Nigeria / River Island Belt / Primark Clutch & Shoes

“Every year the women of New York London leave the past behind and look forward to the future… this is known as Fashion Week.” – Carrie Bradshaw (Sarah Jessica Parker)

Last Saturday, I attended Africa Fashion Week London.  As a regular London fashion week attendee I didn’t know what to expect from AFWL but I went, as I wanted to incorporate a little bit of African prints to my wardrobe to embrace my culture a lot more and team it with my western items. In light of many recent trends there has been a growing appreciation for tribal prints and the style of cultural garments.

I feel like ever since my trip to Nigeria earlier this year, I’ve embraced my cultural prints and garments.  In all honesty I’ve always liked the food just not the clothing. Especially when it came to pairing a cultural outfit with a western item.

The setting of AFWL was similar to what you would expect from LFW except smaller and in a cosy place. There were stores selling the items straight off from the runaway and Well-known bloggers and photographers were present to get inspirations from talented upcoming designers. The beautiful models strutting down the runaway did them justice. There were some daring (and sheer) designs on the runaway as well – I definitely saw a few flashes of bums and boobs haha! There were so many gorgeous items that I wish I could have bought. I definitely want to go next year.

For my outfit – I wore Ankara that got sewn in Nigeria. I paired it with some simple trousers that I’ve been dying to wear. I opted for my go-to clutch and some white shoes I bought from Primark.

Below I will include some of the outfits I loved from the runaway.  Enjoy! x

 Instagram // Twitter // Bloglovin // Lookbook

32 thoughts on “AFWL2014 – Green and white Affair

Leave a Reply

